he Republic of Bulgaria is a country in the southeast of ____
Europe. It borders the Black Sea to the east, Greece and Turkey to the south, Serbia and Montenegro and the Republic of Macedonia to the west, and Romania to the north along the river Danube. The territory of the Republic of Bulgaria is divided into regions and municipalities. In all, Bulgaria has 28 regions (oblasti), each headed by a regional governor appointed by the government. All are named after the regional capital, with the national capital itself forming a separate region.
The National Assembly
The Bulgarian unicameral parliament, the National Assembly or Narodno Sabranie, consists of 240 deputies who are elected for 4-year-term stretches by a popular vote. The votes are for party or coalition lists of candidates for each of the twenty eight administrative divisions. A party or coalition must garner a minimum of 4% of the vote in order to enter parliament. The parliament is responsible for enactment of laws, approval
of the budget, scheduling of presidential elections, selection and dismissal of the Prime Minister and other ministers, declaration of war, deployment of troops outside of Bulgaria, and ratification of international treaties and agreements. The last elections took place on 25th June 2005.
Map of Bulgaria
(NMS), and the Moement for Rights and Freedoms.
The Council of Ministers is chaired by the Prime Minister (Sergey Stanishev since 16 August 2005), and is the principal body of the Executive Branch and presently consists of 20 ministers. The Prime Minister is nominated by the largest parliamentary group and is given a mandate by the President to form a cabinet. The current governmental coalition is made of the Bulgarian Socialist Party (BSP), National Movement Simeon II (NMS)
The Bulgarian judicial system consists of regional, district and appeal courts, as well as a Supreme Court of Cassation. In addition, there is a Supreme Administrative Court and a system of military courts. The Presidents of the Supreme Court of Cassation, Supreme Administrative Court and the Prosecutor General are elected by a qualified majority of two thirds from all the members of the Supreme Judicial Council and therefore are Nappointed by the President
of the Republic. The Supreme Judicial Council is in charge of the self-administration and organisation of the Judiciary.
According to the 2001 census, Bulgaria's population is mainly ethnic Bulgarian (83.9%), with two sizable minorities in the form of Turks (9.4%) and Roma (4.7%). Of the remaining 2.0%, 0.9% are distributed among some forty smaller minorities. 84.8% of the Bulgarian population speaks Bulgarian, a member of the Slavic languages, as native language. Bulgarian is the only official language, but other languages are spoken, corresponding closely to ethnic breakdown. Most Bulgarians (82.6%) are at least nominally a member of the
the Bulgarian Orthodox Church, the national Eastern Orthodox church. Other religious denominations include Islam (12.2%), Roman Catholicism (0.6%), various Protestant denominations (0.5%), atheists and undeclared numbering ca. 4.1%.
ALBA Consult Ltd.
Official Language Bulgarian
Capital Sofia
- Total
- % water
Ranked 102nd
111,001.9 km²
- Total ( 2003 )
- Density
Ranked 88th 7,537,929
-Fixed Rate

Lev (BGN)
1EUR=1,95583 BGN

Time Zone
- in summer
EET_ ( GMT +2)
EEST ( GMT +3)
Calling Code +359

-Public Roads

4,294 km
36,759 km
470 km
3 international

Public Holydays in Bulgaria

January 1
New Year's Day
March 3
Liberation Day
Easter Sunday
Easter Monday
May 1
Labour Day
May 6
St. George 's Day
May 24
St. Cyril and
Methodius Day
September 6
Unification Day
September 22
Independence Day
November 1
National Revival Day
December 24
Christmas Eve
December 25
Christmas Day
December 26
Christmas Day